LibGuides: Emergency Medical Sciences Subject Guide: Research Databases

Scholarly Journals Online

Prehospital Emergency Care
Prehospital Emergency Care publishes peer-reviewed information relevant to the practice, educational advancement, and investigation of prehospital emergency care.

From home, login using your WebAdvisor username and password.
New England Journal of Medicine
The New England Journal of Medicine publishes articles on biomedical science and clinical practices for physicians. Available through ProQuest with a 3 month digital publishing delay.

From home, login using your WebAdvisor username and password.
PLoS Medicine
PLOS Medicine publishes articles of general interest on biomedical, environmental, social and political determinants of health. The journal emphasizes work that advances clinical practice, health policy or pathophysiological understanding to benefit health in a variety of settings.

A peer-reviewed, open access journal.

ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect offers access to scholarly science journal content. Subject coverage includes life, medical, technical, social, and physical sciences.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a database of periodical content that covers more than 160 subject areas. It includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.

Library databases are the BEST way to find quality, scholarly articles from journals.

A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that indexes articles from print sources such as magazines and journals. Each separate database includes different articles from a different set of journals, although there may be some overlap of articles included in some databases.
Even though a database is online, it is not considered an internet source.
Some of the database articles are available in Full Text, while others only include an abstract (summary). When you search for a topic in a database, the resulting list of article citations will show if each article is available full-text in either HTML or PDF format.

Scholarly journals are research-based and often peer-reviewed publicatons that feature detailed articles focusing on topics within an academic field.

From home, login using your WebAdvisor username and password.