The most frequently-used databases
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, continuing education modules,nursing dissertations, and conference proceedings.
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of current topics. Articles include an overview, historical background, pro/con, and more.
Credo Reference features hundreds of encyclopedias and dictionaries. This is a great source for background reading about a topic.
Borrow thousands of popular fiction and non-fiction eBooks and eAudiobooks. This is a collection of downloadable titles available through the Libby app. Dogwood Digital Library is a collaboration between many North Carolina community college libraries, including the Durham Tech Library.
Scholarly and popular e-book titles in many subject areas.
Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and e-books for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
Opposing Viewpoints covers the pros and cons of today’s important social issues. The differing viewpoint articles from magazines, journals, and newspapers present both sides of an issue.
ProQuest Central is a database of periodical content that covers more than 160 subject areas. It includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
A comprehensive collection of primary sources documenting the history, cultures, and experiences of Indigenous peoples across North America and Canada.
This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 200,000 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses.
E-book collection featuring clinical guides, evidence-based practice manuals, handbooks, and professional titles that provide researchers the information they need to provide outstanding care.