Selected Streaming Video Collections
- AVON: LGBTQ+Collection includes 9 videos
- AVON: Stonewall Riots, Greenwich Village, NY, June 28, 1969Collection includes 50 videos
- LGBT StudiesCollection includes 650 videos
- AVON: LGBT Studies in VideoCollection includes 460 videos
TED Talks on LGBTQ topics
DVD's at the Library, by release year
The Most Dangerous Year
HQ 77.965 .U6 M67 2019
As a wave of bills limiting access to public restrooms by transgender people sweeps across the U.S., the families of transgender children in Washington State mount a civil rights battle in their own state.
Transmilitary
UB 418 .T72 T75 2019
Documentary
At a time when transgender people are banned from serving in the U.S. military, four transgender troops risking discharge fight to attain the freedom they so fiercely protect.
Boy Erased
PN 1997.2 .B69 2019
Boy Erased tells the courageous story of Jared Eamons, the son of a Baptist pastor in a small American town, who must overcome the fallout of being outed to his parents.
My Best Friend (Mi Mejor Amigo)
PN 1997.2 .M9 2018
Drama, Foreign Language, Romance
One day, Lorenzo's father decides to host the son of a friend from Buenos Aires named Caito, who had to go to hospital for a long stay. At first, Caito appears shy, tough, and hardly ever speaks, but over time the two boys become friends. However, Caito quickly wears out his welcome with Lorenzo's parents. Spanish dialogue; English subtitles.
The Miseducation of Cameron Post
PN 1997.2 .M56 2018
In the face of intolerance and denial, Cameron meets a group of fellow sinners, including the amputee stoner Jane and her friend, the Lakota Two-Spirit Adam. Together, this group of teenagers forms an unlikely family as they fight to survive.
Fantastic Woman (Una Mujer Fantástica)
PN 1997.2 .F36 2018
Drama, Foreign Language
Marina, a waitress who moonlights as a nightclub singer, is bowled over by the death of her older boyfriend. Spanish dialogue; optional French and English subtitles.
1985
PN 1997.2 .A185 2018
Drama
Closeted advertising executive Adrian returns to his Texas hometown for the holidays during the first wave of the AIDS crisis.
Moonlight
PN 1997.2 .M66 2017
Drama
A young black man struggles to find his place in the world while growing up in a rough neighborhood of Miami.
Gender Revolution: A Journey with Katie Couric
HQ 1075 .G46 2017
Documentary
his documentary examines the roles of science, society and culture with regard to gender, and sheds light on stories of struggle, understanding, ignorance and love.
Carol
PN 1997.2 .C37 2016
Drama, Romance
Two women from very different backgrounds find themselves in an unexpected love affair in 1950s New York.
Danish Girl
PN 1997.2 .D36 2016
Drama, Romance
The remarkable love story inspired by the lives of artists Lili Elbe and Gerda Wegener. Lili and Gerda's marriage and work evolve as they navigate Lili's groundbreaking journey as a transgender pioneer.
Growing Up Trans
HQ 1075 .G769 2015
Documentary
An intimate exploration of the struggles and choices facing transgender kids and their parents. Through moving, personal stories of children, parents, and doctors, this installment of Frontline examines new medical interventions increasingly being offered at younger ages.
Boy Meets Girl
PN 1997.2 .B694 2015
Comedy, Drama, Romance
A poignant, sexy, romantic coming of age comedy about three twenty year-olds living in Kentucky. Robby and Ricky, a gorgeous transgender girl, have never dated. Lamenting the lack of eligible bachelors, Ricky considers dating a girl. Francesca, a beautiful young debutante, is waiting for her Marine fiancé to return from the war. Ricky and Francesca strike up a friendship, and maybe a little more, which forces Robby to face his true feelings for Ricky.
Call Me Kuchu
HQ 76.3 .U33 C353 2013
Documentary, Drama
In Uganda, a new bill threatens to make homosexuality punishable by death. David Kato, Uganda's first openly gay man, and fellow activists work to defeat the legislation while combating persecution in their daily lives. But no one is prepared for the brutal murder that shakes the movement to its core and sends shock waves around the world.
How to Survive a Plague
RA 643.8 .H69 2013
Documentary, History
The story of two coalitions -- ACT UP and TAG (Treatment Action Group) -- whose activism and innovation turned AIDS from a death sentence into a manageable condition.
TRANS
HQ 77.7 .T736 2012
Documentary
TRANS is an up-close and very personal journey into the transgender world through the memorable stories and the unusual lives of a remarkable cast of characters.
The Stonewall Uprising
HQ 76.8 .U6 S76 2011
Documentary
Explores the dramatic event that launched a worldwide rights movement. When police raided a Mafia-run gay bar in Greenwich Village, the Stonewall Inn on June 28, 1969, gay men and women did something they had not done before: they fought back. As the streets of New York erupted into violent protests and street demonstrations, the collective anger announced that the gay rights movement had arrived.
The Times of Harvey Milk
F 869 .S353 M549 2011
Biography, Documentary
This documentary examines the political life of the self-proclaimed "Mayor Of Castro Street," N.Y. stockbroker turned San Francisco activist Harvey Milk, the first openly gay politician elected to public office in California.
Word is Out: stories of some of our lives
HQ 76.3 .U5 W673 2010
Documentary
More than two dozen men and women of various backgrounds, ages, and races talk to the camera about being gay or lesbian.
The Kids are All Right
PN 1997.2 .K53 2010
Comedy, Drama
Two children conceived by artificial insemination bring their father into their family life.
Fatherhood Dreams
HQ 75.27 .F385 2007
This film presents the personal lives of four gay men who always wanted to be fathers and who are now fulfilling their dreams.
Tying the Knot
HQ 1034 .U5 T95 2005
Tying The Knot poignantly explores the ferocious political battle in the U.S. over equal marriage rights. It uncovers the meaning of marriage, focusing appropriately on rights, privilege, and love.
AVON (Academic VIdeo Online)
- AVON (Academic Video Online)
Academic Video Online features 70,000 streaming film titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including allied health, art, automotive technologies, business, counseling, communication studies, criminal justice, engineering, history, psychology, sociology, and more.
Films on Demand Streaming Video
- Films on Demand
Films on Demand provides high quality streaming videos in many subject areas. The videos include documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.