Reference Databases
Use these databases to consult reference sources, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference features hundreds of encyclopedias and dictionaries. This is a great source for background reading about a topic.
-
Gale Health and Wellness
Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. -
Gale Health and Medicine
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Anatomy Databases
Use these databases to learn anatomy and physiology through illustrations and interactive models
-
Anatomy.tv
Learn human anatomy and physiology using interactive models, animations, case studies and clinical content.
Durham Tech has only Anatomy & Physiology module, which includes dental anatomy!
If you end up at https://www.anatomy.tv/welcomer, just click the TITLES tab. To locate the 3D dental resources, scroll down to find the "dental hygiene" option under Clinical Specialties.
Article Databases
Use these databases search for articles and reference sources
-
Gale Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
Gale OneFile Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of fitness and sports, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
-
ScienceDirectScienceDirect offers access to scholarly science journal content. Subject coverage includes life, medical, technical, social, and physical sciences.
-
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a database of periodical content that covers more than 160 subject areas. It includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.
-
Nursing & Allied Health DatabaseProQuest's Nursing and Allied Health Database provides many peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals. It also includes nursing procedure video content from Medcom.
-
Health & Medical CollectionProQuest's Health and Medical Collection journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, surgery, and others.
-
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, continuing education modules,nursing dissertations, and conference proceedings.