Allied Health Databases
- Anatomy.tv
Learn human anatomy and physiology using interactive models, animations, case studies and clinical content.
Durham Tech has only Anatomy & Physiology module, which includes dental anatomy!
If you end up at https://www.anatomy.tv/welcomer, just click the TITLES tab. To locate the 3D dental resources, scroll down to find the "dental hygiene" option under Clinical Specialties. - CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Database of nursing and allied health journals with additional materials that include evidence-based care sheets, audiovisuals, continuing education modules,nursing dissertations, and conference proceedings.
- Health & Medical CollectionProQuest's Health and Medical Collection journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, surgery, and others.
- Healthcare AdministrationProQuest's Health Management Database features journal articles on health administration, hospitals, insurance, law, personnel, ethics, and other subjects. Useful for Health Information Technology, Medical Assisting, and other Allied Health programs.
- Nursing & Allied Health DatabaseProQuest's Nursing and Allied Health Database provides many peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals. It also includes nursing procedure video content from Medcom.
- Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration.
- ScienceDirectScienceDirect offers access to scholarly science journal content. Subject coverage includes life, medical, technical, social, and physical sciences.
General Academic Databases
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a database of periodical content that covers more than 160 subject areas. It includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.
- Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile contains peer-reviewed and full-text scholarly content across all academic disciplines.
Nursing Databases Search Strategies
- Nursing Databases Search Strategy WorksheetUse this worksheet to help you create excellent searches in the databases!
- Tips for searching nursing databasesThis is a .docx file with searching examples and screenshots from ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Database and Gale's Nursing and Allied Health Collection.
Tips for Finding Quantitative Articles with a Keyword Search
If you want to limit your search to quantative studies, first try "quantitative" as a keyword, then try using one of the following terms/phrases in your search (example: lactation AND statistics):
- Experiment
- Hypothesis
- Reliability
- Sample
- Statistics
- Validity
- Variables
Tips for Finding Qualitative Articles with a Keyword Search
If you want to limit your search to qualitative studies, first try "qualitative" as a keyword, then try using one of the following terms/phrases in your search (example: lactation AND focus group):
- ethnography
- case study
- focus group
- interview
- oral history
- participant observation
- lived experience
- narrative
- life experiences
- observational method