Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literature Subject Guide

This guide supports ENG literature courses. You can find links to excellent resources here.

Literature Database

 

 

JSTOR

JSTOR is an online archive of academic journals from across many disciplines, including Anthropology, Archaeology, the Humanities, Literature, and Social Sciences.  It includes historical content.

General Online Databases

What is a Library Database?

  • Library databases are the BEST way to find quality articles from magazine, journals, and newspapers. Our library subscribes to databases so that you don't need to pay for articles as you would for articles you might discover with a Google search.
  •  A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that indexes articles from print sources such as magazines and journals. 

  • There are both general databases useful most any research topic and subject-specific databases for research in various disciplines.  Take a look at the Library Databases and Electronic Resources page to find a comprehensive list of our general and subject-specific databases. 
  •  Even though a database is online, it is not considered a web page.
  • Some of the database articles are available in Full Text, while others only include an abastract (summary).  When you search for a topic in a database, the resulting list of article citations will show if each article is available full-text in either HTML or PDF format. 

 

Scholarly and Popular articles - what's the difference?