- Reading Success from Dartmouth CollegeThe Academic Skills Center at Dartmouth College offers handouts, videos and links to improve active reading skills.
- Reading Strategies: Reading Efficiently by Reading Intelligently from MindToolsThe Mindtools link provides an article with a video on how to get the most from reading assignments.
- Researching, Reading, and Writing video from Films on DemandThis video focuses on the importance of the library, citing sources and active reading strategies.
- Reading Strategies from Oregon State University Success CenterThe website offers tips and tools for effective reading strategies with links to additional resources.
- Reading Assignments: Crash Course Study SeriesLearn the best strategies for making your way through your textbooks and reading assignments.
- Time Management video from Films on DemandThis video provides practical advice from professionals and students for how to manage time effectively as a college student, and noting pitfalls and slip-ups along the way.
- Concentration & Distractions: Academic Success Center at Oregon StateThis article shares many tips on how to choose a study environment, to deal with distractions and interruptions and to avoid multitasking. The website shares additional links and has a video that specifically addresses concentration and distractions.
- Tips for Different Types of Tests from NC StateThis link provides tips for taking specific types of tests.
- Test Taking Strategies from NC StateThis link provides tips for preparing and taking tests.
- This Is a Test...This Is Only a Test: Test-Taking Techniques video from Films on DemandIn nine short video segments, students discover the most effective ways to approach common test formats (multiple choice, matching, true/false, and essay), how to overcome test anxiety, the importance of reading questions carefully, and the benefits of preparing themselves physically as well as mentally.
- Active Listening SkillsThis link provides a video and article on how to pay attention to what people are really saying.
- Notetaking: NCSU Undergraduate Tutorial CenterThis link provides a tip sheet on how to be an active learner, how to structure notes and what to write down when in class.
- Note Taking Skills from Dartmouth CollegeThis video provides tips on taking notes in class, what to do with notes after class and how to review notes.
- Notetaking video from Films on DemandThis video presents skills that students need to effectively record and to learn information presented in class featuring Cornell Notetaking Method.
- What to Write Down During a Class Lecture from LifehackerThis article highlights tips for taking notes in a college class and concludes with a link to additional strategies.
- Taking Notes: Crash Course Study SeriesThe first step in honing your study skills is to take better notes. This video shows you everything you need to know to come to class prepared and find a note-taking system that will help you retain and review like a champ.
- Ten Tips to Avoid Study Traps from UNC-Chapel HillCampus Health Services at UNC-CH offers specific tips on how to stay on track and to make studying meaningful.
- Study Skills from NC StateThe Counseling Center at NCSU offers a link on study skills, specifically note-taking, reading and test taking strategies. The link includes a section on test anxiety and techniques.
- Memory Principles from Middle Tennessee StateThis is a quick reference guide for students with learning and memory tips.
- Effective Study Skills video from Films on DemandIn this video, college students discuss the point of college, tips on how to succeed and potential pit-falls.
- Academic Success: Smart Tips for Serious Students video series from Films on DemandA six-part series filled with facts, hints, insights, and observations from experts in the field of education and from students who know the ropes. Topics include values and goals; time management; critical thinking and problem-solving; active listening and note-taking; researching, reading, and writing; and studying and test-taking.
- The Learning Center at UNC Chapel Hill: Tips & ToolsThis link includes an article with additional links, videos and good reads on topics from managing stress to study skills to multitasking and brain fatigue in articles.
- GrammarlyThis is an online site dedicated to writing, editing and vocabulary enhancement. After a free trial, this is a subscription based site.
- Studying for Exams: Crash Course Study SeriesExplains test prep strategies that actually work.
- How to Plan Your Semester: A Study Strategy That Saves You TimeThis article provides students with four steps to planning a semester, specifically highlighting how to effectively use a planner and a course syllabus.
Time Management Secrets for College Students
Inside the pages of this book, are valuable insights for students to learn how to schedule their time efficiently, how to stop procrastinating, and how to manage their studies, work, and their personal life.
Procrastination: What It Is, Why It's a Problem, and What You Can Do About It
This book provides insights from psychological science and evidence-based strategies to help readers reduce procrastination, and show compassion toward themselves and others who procrastinate.
The Ultimate Productivity Book
From effective time management and efficient speed reading to managing yourself and stopping stress from slowing you down, THE ULTIMATE PRODUCTIVITY BOOK is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success.
Outsmart Your Brain
In clear, accessible prose, Dan Willingham lays out the techniques necessary for students at any stage to succeed and thrive when learning, studying, and taking exams.
The ABCs of How We Learn
Covers field-defining learning theories ranging from behaviorism (R is for Reward) to cognitive psychology (S is for Self-Explanation) to social psychology (O is for Observation)
Teach Yourself How to Learn
Beginning with explaining how expectations about learning, and the study efforts required, differ between college and secondary school, the author introduces her readers, through the concept of metacognition, to the importance and powerful consequences of understanding themselves as learners.
Reading Comprehension Success in 20 Minutes a Day
Reading Comprehension in 20 Minutes a Day enhances students' critical reading skills in just 20 short lessons. Students will learn to read passages of all types (literature, essays, technical writing, scientific articles, and more) carefully and critically in order to find the main idea and draw inferences and conclusions.
The Dyslexia, ADHD, and DCD-Friendly Study Skills Guide
This practical skills guide helps young people with specific learning differences (SpLDs) including dyslexia, DCD/dyspraxia and ADHD study for their exams.
How to Be a Study Ninja
How to be a Study Ninja is a fun, accessible and practical guide on how to get the most out of your studying and love the quest for knowledge again.
