What is a library database?
- Library databases are the BEST way to find quality, scholarly articles from journals.
- A library database is an online resource that the library subscribes to that indexes articles from print sources such as magazines and journals. Each separate database includes different articles from a different set of journals, although there may be some overlap of articles included in some databases. In order to do a comprehensive search on a topic, you will most likely need to perform searches in several databases.
- Even though a database is online, it is not considered an internet source
Off-Campus Access for Electronic Resources
The library databases are licensed for use by Durham Tech students, faculty, and staff only. For remote access, please use your WebAdvisor username and password. If you have trouble logging in or encounter error messages, please contact the library.
Search for Scholarly and Peer-Reviewed Articles
Gale Religion and Philosophy Database
- Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)
Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines on topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
Databases and Electronic Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference features hundreds of encyclopedias and dictionaries. This is a great source for background reading about a topic.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is a database of periodical content that covers more than 160 subject areas. It includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.
- JSTOR
JSTOR contains scholarly journal articles from many subject areas including Sociology, Literature, Arts, History, and Humanities. - ScienceDirectScienceDirect offers access to scholarly science journal content. Subject coverage includes life, medical, technical, social, and physical sciences.
- NCLIVEThis extensive database contains searchable collections of magazine, newspaper, and journal articles as well as encyclopedias, books in print, electronic books, and more. Information may be browsed by subject or information type.