Skip to main content

Library Procedures: About Us

Locations & Hours

Main Campus

Educational Resources Center
1637 East Lawson Street, NC 27703
919-536-7211 or 1600 (on-campus)

Monday – Thursday: 8 a.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Orange County Campus

525 College Park Rd., Hillsborough, NC 27278
919-536-7238
Monday – Thursday: 8 a.m. –6:30 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Librarian services are available
Monday – Thursday: 9 a.m. –6:30 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Northern Durham Center

2401 Snow Hill Road, Durham, NC 27712
919-536-7240
Monday – Thursday: 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Collection Development and Management Guidelines

The library strives to ensure an up-to-date and relevant collection for the College community. Our detailed Collection Development and Management Guidelines can be found below.

DURHAM TECH COMMUNITY COLLEGE LIBRARY MISSION STATEMENT   

Durham Tech's Libraries support the mission and goals of the College by providing staff, services, and resources to support learning, research, engagement, and success.

The libraries aim to support students, faculty, staff, and administration by providing:

  • knowledgeable, approachable, and helpful staff who promote an inclusive environment of equality, respect, integrity, equity, and collegiality;
     
  • high-quality library instruction at each of the three (3) campuses for classes and individualized instruction for assignments or other information needs;

  • diverse, reliable, up-to-date information resources in a variety of formats, including print book and periodical collections, databases, e-journals, e-book collections, streaming video collections, and other multimedia materials;
     
  • a welcoming environment that promotes open and free access to information;

  • comfortable spaces for study, research, collaboration, and learning;
     
  • programs, events, and activities to foster student, faculty, and staff engagement;
     
  • professional communication, collaboration, and teamwork across our campus and community; and
     
  • a commitment to encourage lifelong reading, learning, and inquiry.

Adoption Date: March 2, 2018

Library Staff
Seven staff members standing together.

Julie Humphrey Library Director humphreyj@durhamtech.edu
Susan Baker Reference Librarian bakers@durhamtech.edu
Courtney Bippley Reference Librarian bippleyc@durhamtech.edu
Stephen Brooks Reference Librarian brookss@durhamtech.edu
Tracey Callison Reference Librarian callisont@durhamtech.edu
Meredith Lewis Librarian-Orange County Campus lewisma@durhamtech.edu
Santosh Shonek Librarian-Northern Durham Center shoneks@durhamtech.edu
Charles Farrow Public Services Library Technician farrowc@durhamtech.edu
Mary Kennery Technical Services Library Technician kennerym@durhamtech.edu