Skip to main content

Library Procedures: About Us

All Durham Tech Campus locations are closed.
However, the Librarians can still help!

Email library@durhamtech.edu or chat with us.

Main Campus

Educational Resources Center
1637 East Lawson Street, NC 27703
919-536-7211 or 1600 (on-campus)

Monday – Thursday: 8 a.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday: 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Orange County Campus

525 College Park Rd., Hillsborough, NC 27278
919-536-7238
Monday – Thursday: 8 a.m. –6:30 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.

Librarian services are available
Monday – Thursday: 9 a.m. –6:30 p.m.
Friday: 9 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Northern Durham Center

2401 Snow Hill Road, Durham, NC 27712
919-536-7240
Monday – Thursday: 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Library Staff
Seven staff members standing together.

Staff Directory for Library Services

Title

Name

Contact Information

Director

Julie Humphrey

919-536-7211 ext. 1602

humphreyj@durhamtech.edu

Reference Librarian

Susan Baker

919-536-7211 ext. 1611

bakers@durhamtech.edu

Reference Librarian

Courtney Bippley

919-536-7211, ext. 1607

bippleyc@durhamtech.edu

Reference Librarian

Stephen Brooks

919-536-7211 ext. 1604

brookss@durhamtech.edu

Reference Librarian
 

Tracey Callison

919-536-7211, ext. 1608

callisont@durhamtech.edu

Library Technician, Public Services

Charles Farrow

 

919-536-7211 ext. 1610

farrowc@durhamtech.edu

Library Technician, Technical Services

Lorell Butler

919-536-7211 ext. 1603

butlerl@durhamtech.edu

Orange County Campus

Librarian

Meredith Lewis

919-536-7211 ext. 4211

lewisma@durhamtech.edu

Northern Durham Center Librarian

Rachel McCaskill

919-536-7211 ext. 4409

mccaskillr@durhamtech.edu

 

Collection Development and Management Guidelines

The library strives to ensure an up-to-date and relevant collection for the College community. Our detailed Collection Development and Management Guidelines can be found below.

DURHAM TECH COMMUNITY COLLEGE LIBRARY MISSION STATEMENT   

Durham Tech's Libraries support the mission and goals of the College by providing staff, services, and resources to support learning, research, engagement, and success.

The libraries aim to support students, faculty, staff, and administration by providing:

  • knowledgeable, approachable, and helpful staff who promote an inclusive environment of equality, respect, integrity, equity, and collegiality;
     
  • high-quality library instruction at each of the three (3) campuses for classes and individualized instruction for assignments or other information needs;

  • diverse, reliable, up-to-date information resources in a variety of formats, including print book and periodical collections, databases, e-journals, e-book collections, streaming video collections, and other multimedia materials;
     
  • a welcoming environment that promotes open and free access to information;

  • comfortable spaces for study, research, collaboration, and learning;
     
  • programs, events, and activities to foster student, faculty, and staff engagement;
     
  • professional communication, collaboration, and teamwork across our campus and community; and
     
  • a commitment to encourage lifelong reading, learning, and inquiry.

Adoption Date: March 2, 2018